Innovative chocolate delights

Hello! It’s been a while since I’ve posted any baking creations on here, which is reflective of the fact that I haven’t been doing much exploration with baking in the past couple of months. Prioritizing my time and energy into figuring out a routine for “adult-ing” has left little time for baking projects. Fortunately in the past couple of weeks, I have had a series of occasions to bake for (bonding activities with friends, birthdays, and of course, Easter). I took the opportunity to test out some new recipes, a couple of which I’m happy to share!

*Disclaimer: the desserts come out quite tasty, but I have yet to work on presentation and Instagram-worthy photos!

Fudgy Avocado Brownies

20160320_101854

I’m an avocado fanatic. I take any opportunity I can to incorporate it into meals or even to have it alone as a snack. I was quite excited to come across this fudgy avocado brownie recipe, and even more thrilled when I realized I had all the necessary ingredients to make it with a friend while hanging out! The recipe was quite straightforward, and my friend and I were only caught off guard by how little batter the recipe produced. We had to resort to using a bread pan to ensure that the brownies to produce a thick enough layer for our preference.  The brownies came out with a nice fudgy consistency, which tasted good whether they were minutes out of the pan or chilled in the fridge!

Triple Chocolate Bundt Cake

20160330_211538

At my workplace, we are each assigned as a “party planner” for a colleague’s birthday, which consists of bringing a birthday treat of the colleague’s choice to team meeting  of their birthday week. I decided to take on the challenge of baking a chocolate bundt cake, given my assigned colleague’s preference for a chocolate dessert and inspiration by another colleague’s success in recently baking a chocolate bundt cake herself. I came across this triple chocolate cake, which consisted of cocoa powder, chocolate chips, AND chocolate ganache – a recipe for death by chocolate essentially. It was helpful to have a friend lend me a bundt pan for project, but as evidenced in the photo above, I wasn’t entirely successful in cleanly taking the cake out of the pan! Fortunately the recipe’s chocolate ganache helped hold the cake together and added a more appeasing look to it. Regardless of the appearance, the cake was thoroughly enjoyed by my colleagues and left them in a chocolate coma, especially since most of them were already snacking on Easter chocolates before we started handing out the cake! I have yet to figure out an efficient approach to removing the cake from the pan, but I will add the note to expect this cake to bake for at least an hour, as opposed to the 30 mins listed in the recipe.

That’s all I have to share for now! Feel free to post any other recommended  chocolate recipes.

Leave a Reply

